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CHAPTER 120  
MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR LICENSED FAMILY DAY-CARE SYSTEMS 

22VAC40-120-10. Introduction.  

A. Legal Base. Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia 

sets forth the responsibility of the Department of Social Services for licensure of family 

day-care systems, including the authority and responsibility of the State Board of Social 

Services for the development of regulations containing minimum standards and 

requirements.  

It is a misdemeanor to operate a family day-care system without a license. (§ 63.2-

1712 of the Code of Virginia)  

B. Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 

the following meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Abused or neglected child" (see § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) means any 

child younger than 18 years of age whose parents or other persons responsible for his 

or her care:  

a. Create or inflict, threaten to create or inflict, or allow to be created or inflicted a 

physical or mental injury by other than accidental means, or create a substantial 

risk of death, disfigurement, or impairment of bodily or mental functions;  

b. Neglect or refuse to provide care necessary for the child's health, unless the 

child is, in good faith, under treatment solely by spiritual means through prayer, 

according to the practice of a recognized church or denomination;  

c. Abandon the child;  

d. Commit or allow to be committed any sexual act upon a child in violation of the 

law.  
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"Child" means any person younger than 18 years of age.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Social Services also known as the 

Director of the Virginia Department of Social Services. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia)  

"Complaint" means an accusation received either orally or in writing that:  

a. A licensed family day-care system is not in compliance with one or more of 

these standards or one or more statutory requirements; or  

b. A family day-care system home is not in compliance with one or more 

applicable requirements of these standards or one or more requirements as 

established by the family day-care system; or  

c. A child or children in the care of a family day-care home, which is a member of 

a licensed family day-care system is or are being abused or neglected.  

"Day-care" means care, protection, and guidance provided to a child or group of 

children separated from their parents or guardian for less than 24 hours per day at a 

location other than the home of the parents or guardian.  

"Day-care provider" means an individual who, by contract with a family day-care 

system, provides day-care in his or her home.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social Services.  

"Department representative" means an employee of the department, acting as the 

authorized agent of the commissioner in carrying out the responsibilities and duties 

specified in Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
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"Director" means the licensee or a person designated by the licensee who oversees 

the day-to-day operation of the system including compliance with all minimum standards 

for licensed family day-care systems.  

"Family day-care system" means any person who approves family day-care homes 

as members of its system; who refers children to available day-care homes in that 

system; and who through contractual arrangement may provide central administrative 

functions, including, but not limited to, training of operators of family day-care homes; 

technical assistance and consultation to operators of family day-care homes; inspection, 

supervision, monitoring, and evaluation of family day-care homes; and referral of 

children to available health and social services. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.)  

“Family day-care system home" means any private family home, which is an 

approved member of a family day-care system and receives nine or fewer children for 

care, protection and guidance during any part of the 24 hour day except children who 

are related by blood or marriage to the person who maintains the home. Family day-

care homes that are members of a licensed day-care system and are approved by that 

system to care for six or more children are not subject to direct licensure by the 

department.) (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, or corporation to whom the 

license is issued.  

"Person" means any natural person or any association, partnership, or corporation. 

For the purpose of these standards public agencies are not included in this definition.  
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"Referral" means any activity by the family day-care system that provides assistance 

in locating or arranging day-care for children in homes that have been  

accepted or approved as members of the system, or in locating or arranging for health 

or social services from other sources based upon identified needs.  

"Sponsor" means an individual, association, partnership or corporation having the 

responsibility for planning and operating a family day-care system subject to licensure. 

The licensee is the sponsor of a family day-care system. (The sponsor may not, in all 

cases, be the owner of the physical plant including buildings or real estate, or both, in or 

on which the family day-care system office is located. In these instances the term 

"sponsor" as defined here and used in this chapter is considered to be the person, 

partnership, association, or corporation that owns the enterprise rather than the physical 

plant or real estate, or both.)  

C. The license.  

1. A license to operate a family day-care system is issued to a specific person, 

partnership, association, or corporation for an exact location, which will be 

indicated on the license.  

2. The family day-care system shall be operated and conducted in the name of 

the sponsor or in such name as shall be designated on the application and as 

indicated on the license.  

3. The license expires automatically and is not transferable when there is a 

change of sponsorship.  
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4. The current license shall be posted at all times at a place that is conspicuous 

to the public in the building housing the system office. If the system has more 

than one office, copies of the current license shall be posted in a place that is 

conspicuous to the public in each office.  

5. An annual license is one issued to a family day-care system when the 

activities, services, and facilities meet substantially the minimum standards and 

requirements for a license that are set forth in this chapter and any additional 

requirements that may be specified in Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 

63.2 of the Code of Virginia. The annual license is effective for 12 months unless 

it is sooner revoked or surrendered.  

6. When an annual license expires, a provisional license may be issued for any 

period not to exceed six months, if the applicant is temporarily unable to comply 

with all of the requirements; however, no facility may operate under any such 

provisional license and renewals of that license for a longer period than six 

successive months.  

7. At the discretion of the commissioner, a conditional license may be issued to 

operate a new facility in order to permit the applicant to demonstrate compliance 

with all requirements. A conditional license and any renewal of that shall be for 

no longer a period than six successive months.  

8. Terms of the license.  

a. The terms of any license issued include:  

(1) The operating name of the family day-care system;  
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 (2) The name of the individual, the partnership, the association, or the 

corporation to whom the license is issued;  

(3) The physical location;  

(4) The number of homes that may be under contract to the system;  

(5) The period of time for which the license is effective; and  

(6) The total number of children who may be referred by the system and be 

receiving care at any given time in all homes that are members of the system.  

b. The terms of the license may include other limitations that the 

commissioner may prescribe within the context of this chapter.  

c. The provisional license cites the standards with which the licensee is not in 

compliance.  

D. The licensing process.  

1. Pre-application consultation. Upon request, the department's representative 

will provide consultation to any person seeking information about obtaining a 

license for a family day-care system. The purpose of such consultation is:  

a. To explain standards;  

b. To help the potential applicant to explore the operational demands of a 

licensed family day-care system;  

c. To provide assistance in locating sources of information and technical 

assistance;  

d. To alert the potential applicant of the need to determine whether local 

ordinances will affect the proposed operation (e.g. zoning, business license, 

etc.);  
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e. To provide an on-site visit to a proposed family day-care system office, 

upon request.  

2. The application.  

a. The application for a license to operate a family day-care system shall be 

obtained from the department.  

b. The application, together with all required information, shall be submitted to 

the department at least two months in advance of the planned opening date.  

This is required in order that a determination of compliance with the 

provisions of Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, and with the Standards for Licensed Family Day-Care Systems as 

set forth in this chapter may be made.  

Among other things, the information submitted shall be sufficient to enable the 

department's representative to determine, during the subsequent 

investigation, the specific services to be offered, the adequacy of staff to 

provide these services, the financial capability of the applicant, the character 

and reputation of the applicant, including the officers and agents of any 

association, partnership or corporation as mandated by § 63. 2-1702 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

c. The application shall be signed by the individual responsible for the 

operation of the family day-care system. The application for a family day-care 

system to be operated by a board shall be signed by an officer of the board, 

preferably the chairman.  
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3. The investigation.  

a. Following receipt of the application, the department's representative will 

make an on-site inspection of the proposed office and an investigation of the 

proposed services, as well as an investigation of the character and reputation 

of the applicant, and, upon receipt of the initial application, an investigation of 

the applicant’s financial responsibility.  

b. Applicants for licensure and licensees shall at all times afford the 

Commissioner reasonable opportunity to inspect all of their facilities, books 

and records, and to interview their agents and employees and any person 

living or participating in such facilities or under their custody, control, direction 

or supervision. (§ 63.2-1706 of the Code of Virginia). The financial records of 

an initial applicant shall not be subject to inspection if the applicant submits 

an operating budget and at least one credit reference.  

4. Notice to the applicant of commissioner's action. Upon completion of the 

investigation of the application for a license, the applicant will be notified in 

writing of the commissioner's decision.  

If the license is issued, an accompanying letter will cite any areas of 

noncompliance with standards. This letter will also include any limitations on the 

license and may contain recommendations.  

If a license is to be denied, the letter will state the reasons for the intent to deny 

and will set forth the applicant's right to an administrative hearing.  

5. Procedures for renewal of annual, provisional or conditional license. In order to 

renew an annual, provisional, or conditional license, the licensee must complete  
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the renewal application and return it, together with any required attachments, to 

the department. In order to assure timely processing, the renewal application  

should be completed and returned within 10 days after it is received from the 

department.  

The procedure for investigation and issuance or denial of the license as set forth 

in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection will be followed.  

6. Early compliance (replacement of a provisional or conditional license with an 

annual license).  

a. A provisional or conditional license may be voided and an annual license 

issued when all of the following conditions exist:  

(1) The facility complies with all standards listed on the face of the provisional 

or conditional license well in advance of the expiration date of the provisional 

or conditional license, and no additional areas of noncompliance exist;  

(2) Compliance has been verified by an on-site observation by the department 

representative or by written evidence provided by the licensee; and  

(3) All other terms of the license remain the same.  

b. A request to void a provisional or conditional license and to issue an annual 

license must be made in writing by the licensee to the regional office of the 

department from which the family day-care system's license to operate was 

issued.  

c. If the request is approved by the department, the effective date of the new 

annual license will be the same as the beginning date of the provisional or 

conditional license.  
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7. Situation requiring a new application. A new application must be filed when 

sponsorship of the family day-care system changes.  

8. Modification.  

a. The conditions of the license may be modified during the effective dates of 

the license with respect to increasing or decreasing the number of homes that 

may be placed under contract, the number of children who may be referred by 

the system and be receiving care at a given time, changing the name of the 

system when there is no change in sponsorship, changing location of the 

system office, or other conditions caused by changes in staff, program, or 

facilities.  

b. The licensee shall report to the department any contemplated changes in 

operation that would affect with either the terms of the license or the 

continuing eligibility for a license. (This does not mean the department has to 

approve changes in staff or program unless they affect the terms of the 

license or continuing eligibility.)  

c. This information shall be submitted in writing by the licensee to the regional 

office of the department from which the system's license to operate was 

issued.  

d. The department will then determine whether such changes may be 

approved and the license modified accordingly or whether a new application 

must be filed.  

9. Determination of continued compliance. In order to determine continued 

compliance with standards during the effective dates of the license, the  
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department's representative will make announced and unannounced visits to the 

office or offices of the system and may make such visits to homes that are 

members of the system.  

10. Complaint investigation.  

a. The department has the responsibility to investigate any complaints 

regarding alleged violations of minimum standards for licensed family day-

care systems and provisions of Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 

of the Code of Virginia.  

b. The licensee has the responsibility to investigate any complaints regarding 

any family day-care home that is approved as a member of its system. (See 

22VAC40-120-50 C.) At its discretion the department may also investigate 

complaints against individual homes.  

11. Revocation. Any license may be revoked for failure to maintain these 

standards or for violation of the provisions of Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of 

Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

12. Appeals. The applicant or licensee has the right to request an administrative 

hearing regarding any denial or revocation of a license, in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

Following the receipt of the final order which transmits the department's decision 

after the administrative hearing, the applicant/licensee has the right to appeal to 

a court of record in accordance with § 63.2-1710 of the Code of Virginia.  
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A. Sponsorship.  

1. A family day-care system may be sponsored by a single individual, a 

partnership, an association, or a corporation.  

2. A corporation sponsoring a family day-care system shall maintain its corporate 

status in accordance with Virginia law.  

3. Such corporation shall be organized and empowered for the purpose of 

operating and maintaining a family day-care system. Corporations not organized 

and empowered solely to operate a family day-care system shall provide for such 

operations in their charters.  

4. A family day-care system sponsored by an association or corporation shall be 

controlled by a governing board that shall fulfill the duties of the licensee.  

5. If a family day-care system is sponsored by an individual or a partnership, the 

individual or partnership shall be the licensee and shall comply with the 

responsibilities specified for the governing board. (See subdivision B 3 of this 

section.)  

B. Governing board.  

1. Composition of the governing board.  

a. The membership of the governing board shall be based on the size and 

purpose of the family day-care system as well as the services to be offered by 

the system.  

b. It shall be large enough and of a composition to:  

(1) Be representative of the variety of interests served by the system;  
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 (2) Contain experience appropriate to the services offered by the system; 

and  

(3) Be representative of the geographical area served by the system.  

c. At minimum, the governing board shall be composed of three members 

unless there are fewer than three shareholders, at which time the number of 

members can equal the number of shareholders. This membership shall 

include a president, secretary-treasurer, and member-at-large. When there 

are fewer than three members, this membership shall consist of a president 

and secretary-treasurer.  

d. The method of selecting board members shall be made known to the 

department's representative and shall be consistent with the bylaws.  

2. Meetings of the governing board.  

a. The governing board shall meet not less often than quarterly.  

b. Minutes of all meetings shall be recorded and retained in a permanent file 

at the office of the family day-care system.  

c. Copies of minutes shall be made available to the department's 

representative upon request.  

3. The responsibilities of the governing board shall include, but shall not be 

limited to:  

a. Establishing written bylaws for the association or corporation; (not 

applicable to an individual or partnership).  

b. Establishing written goals and policies under which the family day-care 

system is to operate (see subsection C of this section).  
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c. Ensuring the family day-care system functions according to its defined 

purpose and within the scope of services to be offered.  

d. Ensuring that compliance with minimum standards for licensed family day-

care systems.  

e. Maintaining a budgetary and financial system that assures that a sound 

financial structure is maintained.  

f. Appointing a qualified director to whom it delegates, in writing, the authority 

and responsibility for administrative direction and management of the family 

day-care system in accordance with established policies (optional for an 

individual or partnership).  

g. Establishing written policies that govern the board's or licensee's 

relationship to the director to include, at minimum:  

(1) Evaluation of the performance of the director not less often than annually;  

(2) Provision for the director to meet with the board periodically to review the 

services being provided, and the personnel needs and the fiscal management 

of the family day-care system.  

h. Providing a written organizational chart that indicates the organizational 

elements of the system, the personnel positions within each organizational 

element, and the lines of authority and communication within the family day-

care system. This chart shall be kept current.  

i. Reviewing, at least annually, the program of the family day-care system. 

This review shall include an examination of:  
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 (1) The number, size, and capabilities of homes, and quality of service 

offered by homes that are members of the system;  

(2) The needs of homes that are members of the system and the services 

offered to these homes by the system;  

(3) The needs of children and families served by the system and the services 

offered to them;  

(4) Problems encountered in the operation of the system;  

(5) Consistency of services provided within the framework of the stated 

purpose and objectives of the system;  

(6) Changes required in the focus of the system's program;  

(7) The adequacy of the recordkeeping system.  

j. Determining, based on the annual review required by subdivision 3 i of this 

subsection, the following:  

(1) Requirements for additional staff training;  

(2) Requirements for changes in staffing;  

(3) Requirements for changes in the focus of the program and services 

offered by the system.  

k. Developing and implementing plans to respond to the needs identified in 

subdivision 3 j of this subsection.  

l. Maintaining accurate and appropriate inventories regarding all real property 

and equipment belonging to the system.  
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m. Ensuring that member homes comply with local child care ordinances 

where such ordinances exist. (NOTE: A note of approval from the 

administrator of the local ordinances will constitute evidence of compliance.)  

C. Goals, policies and procedures.  

1. Goals.  

a. Written goals shall be developed for the family day-care system.  

b. These goals shall clearly describe the philosophy and objectives of the 

system.  

c. At minimum, they shall address:  

(1) The purpose of the family day-care system;  

(2) The population to be served;  

(3) The recruitment of homes;  

(4) The program to be offered by the system in terms of:  

(a) Services to be provided to the homes that are members of the system;  

(b) Services to be provided to families and children who use the system.  

2. Policies and procedures. Written policies and procedures shall be prepared for 

the operation of the family day-care system. These policies and procedures shall 

relate to:  

a. Personnel policies. (See 22VAC40-120-30 B.)  

b. Services to member homes including:  

(1) Criteria for approving family day-care homes as members of system;  

(2) Training of home operators;  
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 (3) Technical assistance and consultation to home operators; and  

(4) Inspection, supervision, monitoring and evaluation of system homes.  

c. Services to children and their families including:  

(1) Referral of children to homes that are members of the system; and  

(2) Referral of children to available health and social services.  

3. A copy of the goals and all policies and procedures shall be made available to 

the department representative upon request.  

D. Finances.  

1. Fiscal accountability.  

The family day-care system shall have a plan of financing that assures 

sufficient funds to operate in accordance with its stated purpose, objectives 

and the services to be provided.  

2. Internal financial procedures.  

a. There shall be a system of financial recordkeeping that is consistent with 

generally accepted accounting principles, showing separation of the system's 

accounts from all other records.  

  b. There shall be a written policy for the collection and disbursement of funds.  

c. Those members of the governing board or body and staff who have been 

granted authorized responsibility for funds of the system shall be bonded.  

  



STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES                                                   Page 18 of 57 
 

MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR LICENSED FAMILY DAY-CARE SYSTEMS 
22 VAC 40-120                                                                                                     7/17/13 
 
22VAC40-120-20. Organization and administration.  

 3. Fee and payment schedules.  

a. The family day-care system shall maintain a current written schedule of 

fees charged for the services provided. The applicable schedule or schedules 

shall be made available to families who seek or use the services of the 

system, to homes that apply for membership in the system and to the 

department as part of the application for licensure.  

b. The family day-care system shall establish and maintain a current written 

schedule of payments to be made to homes that are members of the system. 

This schedule shall specify the amount of payment, conditions of payment 

and frequency of payment. It shall be provided to all homes that are members 

of the system and also to the department as part of the application for 

licensure. When applicable, this schedule shall also be made available to 

families who seek or use the services of the system.  

E. Relationship to the licensing authority.  

1. The family day-care system shall submit to the department such reasonable 

reports and information as it may require. (See § 63.2-1708 of the Code of 

Virginia)  

2. The system's books and records shall be made available for inspection by the 

department's representative, upon request. (See § 63.2-1706 of the Code of 

Virginia)  

3. The licensee, governing board or its official representative shall notify the 

department when any major change is anticipated in the program, services 

provided, or administrative structure. When such a change occurs, which was not  
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anticipated, this notification shall be provided no later than 10 days following the 

change. The department shall also be notified within five working days whenever 

a new director is employed by the family day-care system.  

F. Family day-care system setting.  

1. The family day-care system shall have an office that shall serve as the 

headquarters of the system.  

2. This office shall have:  

a. Sufficient space for administration of the system, including all clerical 

functions;  

b. Sufficient space to maintain privacy and confidentiality for conferences with 

parents who seek or use the services of the system and family day-care 

home operators who are members of the system; and  

c. At least one working telephone, other than a pay phone, with a listed 

number that is available for system business. An emergency phone number 

shall be provided for the use of the homes in the system during any hours that 

children are in care if the system's telephone is not manned during those 

hours.  

G. Determination of the number of homes that may be under contract to the system. 

In order to ensure timely and adequate service delivery, the maximum number of homes 

that may be under contract of the system shall be based on the following factors:  

1. The number of system's office staff (NOTE: Persons who are approved as 

day-care providers and their assistants are not considered to be system's office 

staff.);  
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2. The geographical dispersion of homes with relation to the system office;  

3. The type or types and needs of children served by the system;  

4. The financial capabilities of the system; and  

5. The types of program or programs and services offered by the system.  

 

22VAC40-120-30. Personnel. * 

A. General Requirements.  

1. No person convicted of a crime involving child abuse, child neglect or moral 

turpitude shall be a family day-care system owner, operator or employee.  

2. The family day-care system owner, director, and all system employees shall 

be:  

a. At least 18 years of age (EXCEPTION: Secretarial and custodial help may 

be younger than 18 years of age.);  

b. Of good moral character and reputation;  

c. Physically and mentally capable of carrying out assigned duties and 

responsibilities;  

d. Emotionally stable with an understanding of problems and needs of 

children and their families; and  

e. Qualified in accordance with the applicable educational training and 

experience requirements contained in these standards.  
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B. Personnel policies.  

1. There shall be a written description for each staff position. This job description 

shall include:  

a. The job title;  

b. The functions assigned to the position, including authority and 

responsibility; and  

c. Educational or experience, or both, requirements for the position.  

2. A copy of the job description shall be made available to each person assigned 

to the position at the time of employment.  

3. When a system has more than three employees, within the system's office, the 

system shall have written personnel policies outlining personnel practices as they 

affect both the employer and employee. A copy of these policies shall be readily 

accessible to each staff member and shall include at minimum:  

a. Conditions of employment;  

b. Conditions under which employment may be suspended or terminated;  

c. Procedures for resignation;  

d. Salary scales;  

e. Provisions for paid vacation, sick leave, compensatory leave and holidays, 

if any;  

f. Provisions for recurring evaluation of work performance of each employee 

at least annually;  

g. A description of employee benefits;  
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h. Provisions for staff development and training through in-service training, 

attendance at conferences and workshops and educational leave; and  

i. Grievance procedures.  

C. The system staff.  

1. Composition and size.  

a. Composition and number of staff employed by the system shall be 

sufficient to assure:  

(1) Compliance with these standards;  

(2) The uninterrupted and timely provision of all services included in the 

system program to children, parents and homes that are members of the 

system.  

b. In order to ensure timely and adequate service delivery, the number and 

composition of staff shall be determined by:  

(1) The scope of the program and services offered by the system;  

(2) The number of homes that are members of the system and their 

geographical location in relation to the system office;  

(3) The number of children in care in homes that are members of the system;  

(4) The capabilities and experience of the staff; and  

(5) The total responsibilities assigned to each staff member and the time 

required to effectively carry out these responsibilities. Total responsibilities 

are those relating to inspection, supervision, monitoring, evaluation of 

member homes; providing training and technical assistance to operators and  
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staff of member homes; providing referral services to parents and children; as 

well as administrative tasks and supervisory responsibilities.  

c. Qualified staff members, who meet the applicable qualifications established 

by subdivision C 2 of this section shall be designated to perform each of the 

following functions:  

(1) Day-to-day management, administration and supervision of system 

operations;  

(2) Referral services to parents and children;  

(3) Training, technical assistance and consultation to the staff of homes that 

are members of the system;  

(4) Home visitation and approval which includes at minimum those functions 

and services relating to inspection, supervision, monitoring and evaluation of 

homes that are members of the system; and  

(5) Clerical functions.  

d. Multiple functions may be assigned to an individual staff member provided:  

(1) The staff member meets the qualifications for each function as established 

by subdivision C 2 of this section; and  

(2) The multiple assignment is consistent with the requirements of subdivision 

C 1 a of this section regarding the timely and uninterrupted delivery of 

services, and subdivision C 1 b of this section which provides for a 

determination of the required number and composition of staff.  
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2. Staff qualifications.  

a. The director.  

(1) There shall be one full-time staff member designated as the director of the 

system who shall be responsible for the overall day-to-day management,  

administration and supervision of system operations. In the case of an 

individual proprietorship or partnership the director may be the licensee.  

(2) An individual assuming the duties of a director on or after the effective 

date of these standards shall have:  

(a) A master's degree in early childhood education, child development, social 

work, education or psychology from an accredited college or university, or the 

equivalent as determined and approved by the department, plus three years 

of experience in any one or more of these fields, including two years 

experience in a supervisory, administrative or management capacity; or  

(b) A bachelor's degree in early childhood education, child development, 

social work psychology or education from an accredited four year college or 

university, or the equivalent as determined and approved by the department, 

plus four years of experience in any of these fields, including two years 

experience in a supervisory, administrative or management capacity.  

b. Referral, training and home visitation services.  

(1) Responsibilities for referral, training and home visitation services shall be 

assigned to a permanent staff member or members. These services and 

responsibilities shall consist of:  
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 (a) Referral services—Interviewing of parents and children and the referral of 

children to family day-care homes that are members of the system or to 

available health or social services as special needs are identified.  

 (b) Training services—Developing and providing training, technical 

assistance and consultation to the operators and staff of family day-care 

homes that are members of the system.  

(c) Home visitation services—Visiting family day-care homes, for the purpose 

of approving homes in accordance with requirements established in 

22VAC40-120-40 and any additional requirements established by the system 

and assuring continued compliance with these requirements. A full-time home 

visitation staff member shall be responsible for no more than 25 family day-

care homes.  

(2) Staff members designated to perform referral, training or home visitation 

services on or after the effective date of these standards shall have:  

(a) A bachelor's degree in early childhood education, child development, 

social work, psychology or education from an accredited four year college or 

university or the equivalent as determined and approved by the department, 

or  

(b) An associate degree, or equivalent, in human services, community and 

social service, or educational services or their equivalent as determined and 

approved by the department, from an accredited community college or four 

year college or university and two years supervised experience working in a 

child care center, residential children's facility, nursery school, family day-care 

home, or similar program providing care to children.  



STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES                                                   Page 26 of 57 
 

MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR LICENSED FAMILY DAY-CARE SYSTEMS 
22 VAC 40-120                                                                                                     7/17/13 
 

22VAC40-120-30. Personnel. * 

c. Clerical staff. 

 (1) The system shall employ sufficient clerical staff to keep correspondence, 

required records, accounts and files current and in good order.  

(2) Clerical staff shall be qualified by both education and experience to 

perform assigned tasks.  

d. Documentation of qualifications.  

(1) The professional qualifications of staff members, established by 

subdivision C 2 of this section, shall be individually documented.  

(2) The personal qualifications including those established by subdivision A 1 

of this section shall be verified through character references.  

(a) At least three references shall be obtained for each applicant.  

(b) These references shall not be obtained from relatives of applicants.  

(c) These references shall be in writing or there shall be a written notation of 

verbal references.  

3. Staff development.  

a. Provision shall be made for orientation for all staff. This shall be 

documented and recorded in the employee's record.  

b. Prior to assuming their duties, new employees shall be given orientation 

and training in at least the following areas:  

(1) The objectives and philosophy of the system;  

(2) The services offered by the system;  

(3) Confidential treatment of personal information;  



STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES                                                   Page 27 of 57 
 

MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR LICENSED FAMILY DAY-CARE SYSTEMS 
22 VAC 40-120                                                                                                     7/17/13 
 

22VAC40-120-30. Personnel. * 

 (4) The policies and procedures that are applicable to their specific position 

and assigned duties and responsibilities; and  

(5) The standards as they apply to the individual position.  

c. A written plan of in-service training with specific well-defined objectives 

shall be prepared and implemented annually for each employee. A copy of 

this plan shall be filed in the employee's record and shall be made available to 

the department's representative upon request. (EXCEPTION: Clerical and 

custodial employees are exempt from this requirement.)  

d. Attendance at conferences, seminars, workshops, institutes and academic 

courses related to the employee's assigned duties and responsibilities shall 

be encouraged.  

D. Volunteers.  

1. Any volunteers used shall:  

a. Have qualifications appropriate to the services they render;  

b. Be subject to laws and regulations governing the confidential treatment of 

personal information; and  

c. Be selected on the basis of their ability to make a positive contribution to 

the program.  

2. The system shall establish written requirements for the screening and 

selection of volunteers.  

3. Duties and responsibilities of all volunteers shall be clearly defined in writing 

and differentiated from those persons regularly filling staff positions.  
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4. At least one staff member shall be assigned the responsibility for selection, 

orientation, training, scheduling, supervision and evaluation of volunteers.  

5. The system shall not be dependent on the use of volunteers to ensure the 

basic provision of services on a continuous basis.  

*The minimum personnel requirements and qualifications for family day-care providers 

and their staff are addressed in 22VAC40-120-40 B 1.  

 

22VAC40-120-40. Services to system homes.  

A. Policies and agreements.  

1. Policies. The system shall establish and maintain written policies regarding:  

a. The roles, rights and responsibilities of the system in the supervision and 

approval of member homes and referral of children to those homes;  

b. The roles, rights and responsibilities of homes that are members of the 

system;  

c. The roles, rights and responsibilities of parents of children who are cared 

for in homes that are members of the system;  

d. Procedures for consultation to prospective providers to include alerting 

them to zoning and other local ordinances;  

e. Procedures for evaluation, selection and initial approval of homes as 

members of the system;  

f. Orientation and training of operators and staff of homes that are members 

of the system;  

g. The annual renewal of approval of homes as members of the system; and  
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h. Procedures to be followed to assure that all areas of non-compliance with 

approval requirements have been corrected.  

2. Agreements.  

a. The system shall have a written agreement with each member home which 

specifies at least the following:  

(1) The home's agreement with the system's policies in the areas identified in 

subdivision A 1 of this section;  

(2) The financial agreement between the system and the member home;  

(3) The system's role in assisting the home in developing a plan to meet the 

needs of each child accepted for care;  

(4) They system's role in planning for regular conferences between the home 

and parents of children in care;  

(5) The system's responsibility for supervision of children's care and 

adjustment;  

(6) The rights and responsibilities of the system to monitor, inspect, evaluate 

and approve member homes;  

(7) The system's right to remove a child from the home and the conditions 

under which a child may be removed;  

(8) That the home shall accept a child from any source other than the system 

responsible for the home without the prior approval of the system;  
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 (9) Conditions under which the provider may take children away from the 

member home on a routine basis (In an unusual situation, the provider shall 

notify the system by telephone and secure system approval before taking a 

child out of the home.); and  

(10) That the home shall release a child only to the persons specified in the 

child care agreement required by 22VAC40-120-50 A 5.  

b. This agreement shall be signed prior to referral of children to the home.  

B. Approval, monitoring and termination.  

1. Approval, criteria and requirements. The system shall develop criteria and 

requirements that family day-care homes must meet to be approved as members 

of the system. At minimum these criteria and requirements shall address the 

following areas:  

a. Qualifications of day-care providers and their staff that include establishing 

specific educational or experience requirements, or both, to assure that both 

providers and their staff are capable of providing acceptable care to children 

placed in the member home. At minimum the following basic qualifications 

must be met:  

(1) A family day-care provider must be at least 18 years of age;  

(2) A family day-care provider must be able to read and write;  

(3) A family day-care assistant must be at least 14 years of age;  

(4) Family day-care providers and any assistant or assistants must have the 

following personal attributes:  
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 (a) An understanding of children and their problems together with an ability to 

relate to children with courtesy, respect, patience and affection, and 

understanding and respect for the child's family;  

(b) An ability to handle emergencies with dependability and good judgment; 

and  

(c) A motivation to contribute to children's wholesome development;  

(5) Family day-care providers and any assistant or assistants shall be 

responsible, wholesome, emotionally stable people of good character and 

reputation;  

(6) No person convicted of a crime involving child abuse, child neglect or 

moral turpitude shall be a family day-care provider or assistant.  

b. Ratio of adults to children in care. Ratios shall be based at minimum on the 

number, ages and needs of children in care. The system shall require at least 

one adult for every eight children in care, and infants below the age of two 

years shall be counted as two children in determining staff requirements.  

c. The physical environment which includes:  

(1) Physical plant requirements (building and grounds) and requirements for 

maintenance and cleanliness;  

(2) Furnishing and equipment appropriate to the ages of children in care;  

(3) Toileting and bathing facilities;  

(4) Lighting requirements;  

(5) Absence of safety hazard; and  

(6) Adequate space requirements for play activities and napping.  
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d. The water supply and sanitary disposal system shall be approved by the 

health officer, unless water is obtained from a municipal supply and the 

member home is connected to a municipal sewer line.  

e. Care of children including at minimum supervision of children in care and 

the planning and providing of varied daily activities which are appropriate to 

the ages, needs, and capabilities of children in care. Children must be 

supervised at all times by an adult and shall not be left alone in the care of an 

assistant under the age of 18 years.  

f. Methods of dealing with unacceptable behavior which prohibit harsh and 

unreasonable punishment.  

g. Nutrition to assure that nutritious and adequate meals and snacks, in terms 

of quality and quantity, are provided each child.  

h. Health information shall be maintained for the family day-care provider, 

assistant and assistants and for those household members who come in 

contact with children or handle food served to children, as described below:  

(1) Initial tuberculosis examination and report.  

(a) Prior to approval or contact with children, each individual shall obtain an 

evaluation indicating the absence of tuberculosis in a communicable form.  

(b) Each individual shall submit a statement that he or she is free of 

tuberculosis in a communicable form, including the type or types of test or 

tests used and the result or results.  

(c) The statement shall be signed by a licensed physician, the physician's 

designee, or an official of a local health department.  
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 (d) The statement shall be filed in the individual's record.  

(2) Subsequent evaluations.  

(a) An individual who had a significant (positive) reaction to a tuberculin skin 

test and whose physician certifies the absence of communicable tuberculosis 

must obtain chest x-rays on an annual basis for the following two years.  

(i) The individual shall submit statements documenting the chest x-rays and 

certifying freedom from tuberculosis in a communicable form.  

(ii) The statements shall be signed by a licensed physician, the physician's 

designee, or an official of a local health department.  

(iii) The statement shall be filed in the individual's record.  

(iv) Screening beyond two years is not required unless there is known contact 

with a case of tuberculosis or development of chronic respiratory symptoms.  

(b) Additional screening is not required for an individual who had a non-

significant (negative) reaction to an initial tuberculin skin test.  

(c) Any individual who comes in contact with a known case of tuberculosis or 

who develops chronic respiratory symptoms shall, within 30 days or exposure 

or development, receive an evaluation in accordance with subdivision B 1 h 

(1) of this section.  

(3) At the request of the licensed system or the Department of Social 

Services, a report of examination by a licensed physician shall be obtained 

when there are indications that the safety of children in care my be 

jeopardized by the physical or mental health of a specific individual.  
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 (4) Any individual who, upon examination or as a result of tests, shows 

indication of a physical or mental condition which may jeopardize the safety of 

children in care:  

(a) Shall immediately be removed from contact with children;  

(b) Shall immediately be removed from contact with food served to children; 

and  

(c) Shall not be allowed contact with children or food served to children until 

the conditions cleared to the satisfaction of the examining physician as 

evidenced by a signed statement from the physician.  

i. Fire safety to include appropriate emergency plans for evacuation of the 

home. The member home shall comply with any limitations which may be 

placed by the Virginia Fire Safety Regulations on the maximum number of 

children who may be in care.  

j. Record keeping to include the records to be maintained in the home on 

each child and the content and format of each record.  

k. Each member home shall have a working telephone on the premises with a 

listed number. The phone number for a doctor who may be called in an 

emergency, an ambulance service or rescue squad, the fire department and 

the police shall be posted near the phone.  
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2. Approval determination.  

a. Prior to approval of any home, as a member of the system, the system 

shall determine that the home complies with the written criteria and 

requirements established by the system in accordance with subdivision B 1 of 

this section.  

b. This determination of compliance shall be documented by a compliance 

investigation addressing, at minimum, the areas identified under subdivision B 

1 of this section and an evaluation of all information provided as part of the 

application process.  

c. The study shall also contain the following documentation:  

(1) Health reports required by subdivision B 1 h of this section;  

(2) Reports of at least three character references for the day-care provider 

and each member of the staff (These references shall be in writing or there 

shall be a written notation of verbal references.);  

(3) A written record of previous training and experience of the day-care 

provider, if any; and  

(4) Information to show how capacity was determined, including evaluation of 

any unusual conditions.  

d. This study shall include interviews with all adult members of the household 

and at least two interviews with the day-care applicant or provider, one of 

which shall take place in the home where care will be provided to children.  
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3. Approval notification.  

a. Within 30 days following the completion of the interviews required by 

subdivision B 2 d of this section, the system shall provide written notification 

to the applicant home of the results of the study, to include corrective action 

required.  

b. If the home is approved, the notification to the provider shall include the 

capacity of the home. In no case shall the capacity exceed nine children, 

including children under six who are related by blood or marriage to the day-

care provider.  

c. If the day-care provider has responsibility for a handicapped person who 

requires special attention or services, this factor shall be considered in 

determining the approved capacity of the member home and the record of the 

home shall contain documentation of this evaluation.  

d. If the home is approved, this notification shall be accompanied by an 

approval certificate which shall be posted in a place that is conspicuous to the 

public in each approved home.  

4. Termination.  

a. The system shall have written policies for suspension or termination of a 

member home.  

b. The system shall notify the provider in writing of the reasons for suspension 

or termination within two weeks of such suspension or termination.  

5. Annual approval. Each member home shall be approved annually. The same 

approval process shall be used as described in subdivisions B 1 through 3.  
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6. Monitoring.  

a. Each member home shall be visited at least quarterly in order to assure 

that the home continues to comply with the system's standards.  

(1) At least two of these visits shall be unannounced;  

(2) The results of these visits shall be documented in the home's record.  

b. The department, at any time, may make an announced or unannounced 

visit to a home that is a member of the system in order to assure continued 

compliance with the applicable provisions of this chapter. The results of such 

visits shall be provided to the system.  

7. Annually the system shall provide the regional office of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services, from which the system's license to operate is 

issued, a current directory of approved homes that are members of the system.  

a. The initial directory shall be provided 30 days after the system's initial 

license to operate is issued.  

b. An updated directory shall be provided with the system's application for 

license renewal.  

c. The directory shall contain at minimum the following information:  

(1) The name of the day-care provider;  

(2) The address of the member home;  

(3) The telephone number of the member home; and  

(4) The approved capacity of the member home.  
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8. Copies of the notification of member home approval and termination, required 

by subdivisions B 3 a and B 4 b of this section, shall also be provided by the 

system to the regional office of the Virginia Department of Social Services from 

which the system's license to operate was issued.  

C. Training.  

1. The licensee shall have on file at the system office separate written plans 

describing initial and on-going training of each provider. Each plan shall describe 

such training in detail and shall include a description of training topic covered, 

training materials used, frequency and duration of training sessions, persons and 

resources utilized within the system and from the community to implement 

training, names of trainers, training methodology, and the process used to 

evaluate the training program by both staff and providers.  

2. Initial training.  

a. Prior to acceptance or within the first six months after acceptance as a 

member home, the system shall provide initial training for each day-care 

provider.  

b. Such training shall include at minimum a two-hour training session on each 

of the following areas, unless the system develops a method to certify 

equivalent competency in these subject areas. Such methods shall be subject 

to review and approval by the department.  

(1) An orientation to the system;  

(2) Organizing for family day-care;  

(3) Child growth and development;  
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 (4) Health care;  

(5) First aid, home safety and fire safety;  

(6) Nutrition;  

(7) Child abuse and protection;  

(8) Appropriate activities and toys for mixed age groups of children;  

(9) Dealing with unacceptable behavior;  

(10) Community resources;  

(11) Parent and day-care provider relationships.  

c. The licensee shall describe and document the content and hours of training 

received by each provider or the equivalent competency, or both. This 

documentation shall be kept on file at the system office as part of the day-

care provider required by 22VAC40-120-60 C 2.  

3. On-going training.  

a. Within each succeeding year, following the completion of initial training, the 

licensee shall provide at least two hours of on-going, in-service training to 

providers each quarter.  

b. The content of this training shall be determined by the system and shall be 

based on the needs of approved day-care providers. At minimum, it shall 

reinforce or expand on the areas identified in subdivision C 2 b of this section.  

c. The licensee shall describe and document the content and hours of training 

received by each provider and shall keep this documentation on file at the 

system office as part of the day-care provider record required by 22VAC40-

120-60 C 2.  
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4. A provider who refuses to participate in training shall be terminated as a 

member home.  

D. Technical assistance and consultation.  

1. The system has the responsibility to provide technical assistance and 

consultation to member homes.  

2. Technical assistance and consultation include, but shall not be limited to, the 

following areas:  

a. Provision of information and advice on child development, methods of 

dealing with unacceptable behavior, fire safety, working with exceptional 

children, dealing with stress or crisis, etc.;  

b. Loans of toys and equipment, if available;  

c. Provision of information on training resources available in the community 

on an on-going basis and as appropriate; and  

d. Nutrition and menu planning on an on-going basis.  

3. Technical assistance and consultation provided to member homes shall be 

recorded in the day-care provider record required by 22VAC40-120-60 C 2 e (5).  

 

22VAC40-120-50. Services to children and families.  

A. Referral to system homes.  

1. Children shall be referred only to homes which have been approved as 

required in subsection B of this section.  

2. No child shall be referred to a home which has reached its approved capacity.  
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3. Referrals shall be made only after a personal interview between a 

representative of the system and the parent or parents and child. Prior to 

acceptance of a child for care, the parent and child or children shall visit the 

home where care will be provided.  

4. When a child is accepted for care and payment will be made by a local 

department of public welfare or social services, the system shall seek approval 

from that department prior to referral of the child for care.  

5. When a child is accepted for care and a referral is made to a home that is a 

member of the system, there shall be a written agreement between the system 

and parent or parents or guardian or guardians of the child. A copy of the signed 

agreement shall be given to the parent or parents or guardian or guardians and a 

copy shall also be retained and filed by the system at the system office. 

Additionally, the requirements of subdivisions A 6 and 7 also apply.  

6. The child care agreement shall address the following items:  

a. Child's name, birth date, home address, and home telephone number;  

b. Names and addresses of parent or parents or guardian or guardians and 

telephone number at which they can be reached during hours the child is in 

care;  

c. A statement that a child brought to the home shall be left with a staff 

member and released only to the parent or parents or other specified person 

or persons;  

d. The hours the child will be in care;  

e. The name, address, and telephone number of the child's physician;  
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f. Emergency medical authorization;  

g. Transportation arrangements;  

h. Notes of any special problems or needs of a child;  

i. Granting or denying permission for field trips;  

j. Granting or denying permission for participation in water activities, such as 

swimming and wading;  

k. Any other referral information;  

l. Agreement regarding the home in which the child will be placed;  

m. Financial arrangements for care;  

n. A statement that staff members of both the system and member home in 

which the child receives care shall be available for parent conferences;  

o. Information regarding the means by which care will be provided in the 

event the primary day-care provider is ill, on vacation or other wise 

unavailable due to an emergency; and  

p. Information regarding the role of the system in referral of children in care in 

a home that is terminated as a member of the system.  

7. The child care agreement may be a one or two part agreement at the option of 

the system.  

a. When a one part agreement is used it shall:  

(1) Be signed by the parent or parents of the child, a representative of the 

system and the day-care provider in whose home the child will receive care.  
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(2) A copy of this agreement shall be provided by the system to the member 

home in which the child will receive care.  

b. When the system elects to use to two part agreement the following 

standards apply:  

(1) Part one:  

(a) Shall contain all items specified in subdivision A 6 except financial 

arrangements for care (See subdivision A 6 m);  

(b) Be signed by the parent or parents of the child, a representative of the 

system and the day-care provider in whose home the child will receive care; 

and  

(c) A copy shall be provided by the system to the member home in which the 

child will receive care.  

(2) Part two:  

(a) Shall contain the financial information required by subdivision A 6 m and 

any other information that the system deems appropriate;  

(b) Shall be signed by the parent or parents of the child and a representative 

of the system.  

8. Health requirements for children.  

a. Timing and frequency of medical reports:  

(1) Each child accepted for care shall obtain a physical examination by or 

under the direction of a licensed physician prior to admission (as outlined 

below) or within 30 days after admission:  
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(a) Within 60 days prior to admission for children six months of age and 

younger;  

(b) Within 90 days prior to admission for children seven months through 18 

months of age;  

(c) Within six months prior to admission for children 19 months through 24 

months of age;  

(d) Within 12 months prior to admission for children two years of age through 

five years of age;  

(e) Within 24 months prior to admission for children six years of age and 

above.  

EXCEPTIONS:  

(i) Children transferring from one facility licensed by the Virginia Department 

of Social Services, certified by a local department of public welfare or social 

services, or approved by a licensed family day care system:  

If the initial report of physical examination and immunizations is submitted to 

the new home, no additional examination is require. If the initial report is not 

available, a report of physical examination and immunizations is required.  

(ii) Physical examinations are not required for any child whose parent or 

guardian objects on religious ground. The parent or guardian must submit a 

statement noting that the parents or guardian objects on religious grounds 

and certifying that, to the best of the parent's or guardian's knowledge, the 

child is in good health and free from communicable and contagious disease.  

(2) Medical reports after admission:  
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(a) Updated information on immunizations received shall be obtained once 

every six months for children under the age of two years.  

(b) Updated information on immunizations received shall be obtained once 

between each child's fourth and fifth birthdays.  

b. Form and content of medical reports:  

(1) The current form approved by the Virginia Department of Health, or any 

other form which provides all of the same information shall be used to record 

immunizations received and the results of the required physical examination.  

(2) Each report shall include the date of the physical examination or the dates 

immunizations were received, or both.  

(3) Each report shall be signed by a licensed physician, the physician's 

designee, or an official of a local department of health.  

EXCEPTION: Documentation of immunizations received is not required for 

any child whose parent or guardian submits an affidavit to the center stating 

that the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with the parent's or 

child's religious tenets or practices.  

9. An emergency medical authorization form shall be provided the home at the 

time the child enters care. (NOTE: At the discretion of the system this form may 

be part of the child care agreement required by subdivision A 6.)  

a. The emergency medical authorization form shall be signed by the parent or 

parents, the provider, and a representative of the system.  

b. A copy of the signed emergency medical authorization form shall also be 

filed in the child's record that is maintained in the system's office.  
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10. The system shall make arrangements for substitute or back-up care when a 

day-care provider in a member home needs assistance in any emergency or 

during illness or vacation. Such care may be provided by a staff person approved 

as a system assistant or another member provider with available enrollment 

capacity.  

11. They system shall confer with the parent of each child at least twice a year 

concerning the child's progress and the parents' view of the adequacy of care 

being provided. This contact may be by telephone or in person at the discretion 

of the parent or parents involved.  

B. Referral to health and social services.  

1. The licensee shall have on file a written plan describing how the need for 

medical and social services is determined and how social services are made 

available, either within the system or by arrangement with specific public or 

private community agencies, or both. This written plan shall include the system's 

policy and procedures for referral of children and their parents to appropriate 

social, mental health, welfare and medical services.  

2. The licensee shall maintain a written record of all referrals of children and their 

families to social, mental health, welfare, and medical services which shall 

include the results of such referrals, when reports of such results are provided to 

the system.  

C. Complaint investigation. The family day-care system shall be responsible for 

investigation of any complaint received on any home that is a member of its system. 

When a system receives such a complaint, the following Standards apply:  
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1. The complaint shall be recorded on a complaint record which shall include at 

minimum the information required by 22VAC40-120-60 C 5 b.  

2. A copy of this completed record shall be placed in the file of the home against 

which the complaint was made and a copy shall be provided the regional office of 

the Virginia Department of Social Services from which the family day-care 

system's license to operate is issued. This copy shall be provided within 10 days 

of the date the complaint investigation is completed.  

3. When the complaint concerns a specific child, a copy of the completed record 

shall be placed in the file of the child.  

4. A complete investigation shall be made, by the licensee, of each complaint 

received. This investigation shall:  

a. Be initiated within five working days following the receipt of the complaint:  

b. Completed within 14 days following receipt of the complaint; and  

c. Include at least one visit to the family day-care home on which the 

complaint was received.  

5. If the complaint is found to be valid, corrective action shall be initiated 

immediately.  

6. When the complaint includes an accusation of child abuse or neglect, the 

following Standards also apply:  

a. The complainant shall be referred to the protective services unit of the local 

department of public welfare or social services in the locality where the home 

is located.  
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b. The family day-care system shall notify the local department of public 

welfare or social services child protective services' staff member immediately 

and provide all information regarding the complaint. The oral notification shall 

be confirmed in writing within 72 hours and a copy placed in the file of the 

home against which the complaint was made. Simultaneously, a copy of this 

written notification shall also be provided the regional office of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services from which the family day-care system's 

license to operate is issued.  

c. The system shall make its own investigation within 24 hours. A joint 

investigation by the protective services worker of the local department of 

public welfare or social services and a representative of the system is 

encouraged to the maximum extent possible.  

 

22VAC40-120-60. Records.  

A. General requirements.  

1. Any forms used for record keeping shall contain at minimum the information 

specified in these Standards. Model forms, which may be copied, will be supplied 

by the department upon request.  

2. If any model form developed by the department is not used, the substitute form 

shall be approved by the department.  

3. All records shall be kept in a locked area.  
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4. The licensee shall have the responsibility for assuring that all records are 

treated confidentially and that information shall be made available only when 

needed for proper care of the children referred to homes who are members of the 

system. (EXCEPTION: All records shall be made available for inspection by the 

department's representative. See 22VAC40-120-10 D 3 b.)  

B. Written policies and procedures. The following written policies and procedures 

shall be developed by the system. Copies shall be maintained in a permanent file within 

the system office. Those so identified shall also be permanently filed in homes that are 

members of the system.  

1. Policies and procedures pertaining to operation and management of the 

system:  

a. Written goals which clearly describe the philosophy and objectives of the 

family day-care system and address those areas specified in 22VAC40-120-

20 C 1. A copy of these written goals shall be provided to each home that is a 

member of the system.  

b. Written policies and procedures which address system services to be 

provided to member homes and services to be provided to children and their 

families. (See 22VAC40-120-20 C 2.) Copies of these policies and 

procedures which relate to services to be provided to member homes and to 

children and their families shall be provided to each home that is a member of 

the system.  

c. Written by-laws, when the family day-care system is sponsored by an 

association or corporation.  
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2. Policies and procedures pertaining to staff employed in the system office.  

a. A written job description for each staff position which exists in the system 

office. Each job description shall address the areas identified in 22VAC40-

120-30 B 1.  

b. Written policies which outline personnel practices as they affect both the 

employer and employee. These policies shall include the areas identified in 

22VAC40-120-30 B 3.  

c. Written requirements for the screening and selection of volunteers, if 

volunteers are used. (See 22VAC40-120-30 D 2.)  

d. Written definition of the duties and responsibilities of volunteers. (See 

22VAC40-120-30 D 3.)  

3. Policies and procedures pertaining to member homes.  

a. Policies and procedures which describe the selection, evaluation, approval 

and general management of homes which are members of the system and 

cover at minimum those areas specified in 22VAC40-120-40 A 1.  

b. Specific criteria and requirements which family day-care homes must meet 

to be approved as members of the system. At minimum these criteria and 

requirements shall address the areas specified in 22VAC40-120-40 B 1.  

c. Policies for suspension or termination of a home that is a member of the 

system. (See 22VAC40-120-40 B 1.)  

d. Copies of the policies and procedures, required by subdivisions B 3 a, b, 

and c shall be provided to each home that is a member of the system.  
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C. System records. The following records shall be maintained by the system in a 

permanent file within the system office. Those so identified shall also be provided to 

each home that is a member of the system.  

1. Records on the system.  

a. An organization chart (See 22VAC40-120-20 B 3 h.)  

b. Financial records which are consistent with generally accepted accounting 

principles and reflect a separation of system accounts form all other records. 

(See 22VAC40-120-20 D 2.)  

c. An inventory of all real property and equipment belonging to the system. 

(See 22VAC40-120-20 B 3 1.)  

d. A schedule of fees charged for services provided. (See 22VAC40-120-20 D 

3 a.)  

e. A schedule of payments to be made to homes that are members of the 

system which contains the items required by 22VAC40-120-20 D 3 b. A copy 

of this schedule shall be provided to each home who is a member of the 

system.  

f. Minutes of all meetings of the corporate or association governing board. 

(See 22VAC40-120-20 B 2 b.)  

2. Records on homes who are members of the system.  

a. An individual record shall be maintained on each home that is approved as 

a member of the system.  

b. This record shall be established when the home applies for membership in 

the system and shall be maintained in the system office.  
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c. The record shall be kept current.  

d. The complete record shall be retained until two years after the home 

withdraws or is terminated as a member of the system.  

e. It shall contain at minimum the following information and documentation:  

(1) A copy of the agreement with the member home as required by 22VAC40-

120-40 A 2 a. A copy of this agreement shall be on file in the member home.  

(2) A copy of each compliance study completed on the home and required by 

22VAC40-120-40 B 2 b.  

(3) The report of each quarterly visit to the home as required by 22VAC40-

120-40 B 6 a (2).  

(4) A record containing the name of each child who has been referred to the 

home for care, the date of referral and in those cases where care has been 

terminated, the date and reason for termination.  

(5) A notation of all technical assistance and consultation provided to the 

home as required by 22VAC40-120-40 D 3.  

(6) The following personal and social data on each day-care provider.  

(a) Name;  

(b) Birthdate;  

(c) Current address and telephone number;  

(d) Last previous employment;  
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(e) For providers who are accepted as members of the system after the 

effective date of these Standards, copies of at least three references or 

notations of verbal references reflecting the date of the reference, the source 

and the content;  

(f) A statement signed by the day-care provider reporting any convictions of 

law violations excluding traffic violations and offenses committed before his or 

her eighteenth birthday which were finally adjudicated in a juvenile court or 

under a youth offender law;  

(g) Previous experience or training, or both;  

(h) Social Security number;  

(i) Name and telephone number of person to contact in an emergency; and  

(j) Date and reason for termination as a member of the system.  

(7) The following personal and social data for each person employed by the 

provider as a staff member in the home:  

(a) Name;  

(b) Birthdate;  

(c) Current address and telephone number;  

(d) Position and date employed;  

(e) Last previous employment;  

(f) For persons who are employed after the effective date of this chapter, 

copies of at least two character references or notations of verbal references 

reflecting the date of the reference, the source and the content;  
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(g) A statement signed by the staff member reporting any convictions of law 

violations excluding traffic violations and offenses committed before his or her 

eighteenth birthday which were finally adjudicated in a juvenile court or under 

a youth offender law;  

(h) Previous experience or training, or both;  

(i) Social Security number;  

(j) Name and telephone number of person to contact in an emergency;  

(k) Notations of formal training received following employment; and  

(l) Date and reason for termination of employment.  

(8) The health related statements required by 22VAC40-120-40 B 1 h.  

(9) The provider training plan, the record of initial provider training and the 

record of on-going provider training required by 22VAC40-120-40 C 1, 2, c, 

and 3 c.  

(10) A copy of the record of each complaint received on the home as required 

by 22VAC40-120-50 C 2. (See subdivision C 5 for content of this record.)  

3. Records of persons employed in the system office.  

a. An individual record shall be maintained on each staff member employed in 

the system office.  

b. This record shall be established when the individual is employed and shall 

not be destroyed until two years after employment is terminated.  

c. The record shall be kept current.  

  



STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES                                                   Page 55 of 57 
 

MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR LICENSED FAMILY DAY-CARE SYSTEMS 
22 VAC 40-120                                                                                                     7/17/13 
 

22VAC40-120-60. Records.  

d. It shall contain at minimum the following:  

(1) Personal and social data:  

(a) Name;  

(b) Birthdate;  

(c) Current address and telephone number;  

(d) Position and date employed;  

(e) Last previous employment;  

(f) For persons employed after the effective date of this chapter, copies of at 

least three references or notations of verbal references reflecting the date of 

the reference, the source and the content;  

(g) A statement signed by the employee reporting any convictions of law 

violations excluding traffic violations and offenses committed before his or her 

eighteenth birthday which were finally adjudicated in a juvenile court or under 

a youth offender law;  

(h) Previous experience or training, or both;  

(i) Social Security number;  

(j) Name and telephone number of person to contact in an emergency;  

(k) Notations of formal training received following employment; and  

(l) Date and reason for termination of employment.  

(2) The record of staff orientation required by 22VAC40-120-30 C 3 a.  

(3) The annual plan for in-service training required by 22VAC40-120-30 C 3 c.  
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4. Records on children referred for care.  

a. An individual record shall be maintained on each child accepted by the 

system and referred to a member home for care.  

b. This record shall be established when the child is accepted for care.  

c. The record shall be kept current.  

d. It shall contain at a minimum the following:  

(1) A copy of the child care agreement required by 22VAC40-120-50 A 5, 6, 

and 7;  

(2) A record of placement which contains the name of each home in which the 

child has received care, the date referred for care and the date and reason 

care was terminated;  

(3) A copy of the medical information required by 22VAC40-120-50 A 8;  

(4) A copy of the emergency medical authorization form required by 

22VAC40-120-50 A 9;  

(5) A record or each referral of the child and/or the family to social, mental 

health, welfare and medical services as required by 22VAC40-120-50 B 2.  

e. A copy of the records required by subdivisions C 4 d (3) and (4), shall be 

on file in the member home in which the child is provided care.  

5. Complaint records.  

a. Each complaint shall be recorded on a complaint record. (See 22VAC40-

120-50 C 1.)  
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b. The complaint record shall include at minimum the following information:  

(1) Name and address of the family day-care home;  

(2) Name, address and telephone number of the complainant;  

(3) Method by which the complaint was made, including the date and time 

received;  

(4) Person receiving the complaint;  

(5) A description of the complaint, including dates and times, where 

applicable;  

(6) Findings and action taken to include whether the complaint was found to 

be valid, invalid or validity not clearly determined;  

(7) The name of the person or persons who investigated the complaint and 

the date the investigation was completed; and  

(8) The date the complainant was notified of the results of the investigation.  

c. When the complaint includes an accusation of child abuse or neglect, a 

copy of the written notification required by 22VAC40-120-50 C 6 shall be 

attached to the complaint record and filed as a permanent part of that record.  

d. Release of information regarding the identity of the complainant shall be 

governed by the provisions of the Privacy Protection Act, Chapter 26 (§ 2.1-

377 et seq.) of Title 2.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

 


